Kazakhstan suspends air traffic with Egypt


Kazakhstan will suspend air traffic with Egypt and restrict entry from 11 countries, including South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Madagascar, Eswatini, Malawi, Tanzania and Hong Kong, reported at the Government’s meeting today. The decision of the authorities was related to the global spread of the new variant of coronavirus Omicron. To date, it was detected in Israel, Czech Republic, the Netherlands, Belgium, the United Kingdom, Italy, Germany, Australia, Canada and Egypt. Now passengers arriving from these countries will have to take a PCR test regardless of vaccination. They will be also placed in home quarantine for seven days. Meanwhile, the epidemiological situation in the country remains stable, Kazakh Prime Minister emphasized. Only North Kazakhstan region is in the “red” zone, five regions are in the “yellow” zone and 11 are in the “green” zone.

“The number of infected people receiving in-patient and out-patient care has significantly decreased. The occupancy rate in infectious diseases hospitals is 29 percent, in intensive care beds is 23 percent. The proposals of the Health Ministry to enhance control at the state border are supported given the emergence of Omicron variant in other countries. There has to be constant control of the epidemiological situation within the country. People must continue wear masks indoors and in transport, maintain social distance. We also need to ensure proper coverage with vaccination and booster vaccination,” said Askar Mamin, Kazakh Prime Minister.

Translation by Saniya Sakenova

Edited by Saule Mukhamejanova