New COVID-19 restrictions come into force in five cities of Kazakhstan

New COVID-19 restrictions have come into force in five cities of Kazakhstan, including Nur-Sultan, Almaty, Shymkent, Atyrau and Karagandy, starting today. The work of establishments not participating in the Ashyq project will now be suspended in these regions. The rule doesn’t apply to central and law enforcement agencies, local administrations, health care organizations, the media, grocery stores, pharmacies and life support organizations. There is also a total ban on all public events, including family celebrations. In addition, 80 percent of employees of government agencies, national companies and other organizations will now be working remotely. Those vaccinated and those who had recovered from coronavirus within the last three months will work as usual. Among other things, the Mayor’s Offices of these cities will have to tighten quarantine measures in their border areas. These regions account for 65 percent of daily infections and 55 percent of daily coronavirus-linked deaths in the country.


Translation by Assem Zhanmukhanova

Editing by Galiya Khassenkhanova