Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan introduce “Asian Schengen”


The Silk Road countries will have their own ‘Schengen’. Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan are at the first stage of considering the introduction of the Silk Road multi-entry tourist e-visa, Sputnik Kazakhstan reported. The new mechanism will make it easier for tourists to go through visa, customs and border barriers when travelling between the neighbouring states. While now foreigners need to obtain two separate visas to travel, for example, to Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan, then the new system will make this task more simple. Currently, it is the regulatory and technical issues that are being addressed. The list of countries whose nationals will be able to apply for visas has already been agreed upon. The developers plan to complete all work by the end of this year. The initiative was well-received in Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan.