Upper House of Kazakh Parliament welcomes new members

26.08.2022, 19:46

Six more members of the Kazakh Parliament were introduced to its upper house. Representatives of the newly formed Abai, Zhetisu and Ulytau regions received the mandate. The Central Election Commission announced the voting results. More than 300 members of local representative bodies took part in the election. Only 12 of them ran for office.

“Two representatives are elected to the Senate from each of the three newly created regions. New members of the Senate fell under different rotations in regards to the term of office. Some fell under the mandate elected on June 28, 2017, and others - elected on August 12, 2020,” noted Nurlan Abdirov, Chairperson of the Central Election Commission of Kazakhstan.

According to the Constitution of Kazakhstan, members of the Senate are elected for six years. The newly appointed senators will receive their mandates on August 31.